Blog Post #7

“I could have prevented 9/11” -Donald Trump

Many politicians are revered as admirable and honorable. Many do not fall into that category, and one in particular is Donald Trump. His career as a real estate agent and television star create quite the journey of becoming a presidential candidate. Recently on an episode of Saturday Night Live, a comedian from the show stated how he thought “America needed to stop doing things because they are funny.” This is in reference to him believing it was funny that Trump was running for president, but now that the election process is proceeding with Trump still involved, it worries him. He believes that America needs to stop encouraging Trump’s behavior because he doesn’t want him in the running anymore. I agree with this, and when he truly became a contender in the 2016 election, I decided to do some research of the man myself, instead of just abiding by what my peers were saying.

I simply typed in his name on YouTube, and found a video labeled “Top 10 crazy Donald Trump moments”. Instantly I realize that I would never want a president with a multitude of videos highlighting his worst moments, all of them being in a public setting. There were videos of him being rude to so many different people, and many instances where he incessantly reminded people about how wealthy he was. I soon realized that what the media and my peers were saying was true, and I too became scared that many Americans are actually in support of this man. I also had the realization that I had never in my life met one supporter of Donald Trump, and to this day I still have not met anyone who is intending to vote for him.

Knowing all of this information, when I was on CNN.com and found an article with the title “Donald Trump: I would have prevented 9/11”, I was not as surprised as I should have been. Such an outrageous statement would have taken me aback if it was muttered by anyone other than Donald Trump. I simply was not surprised that he would have the audacity to say something so outlandish only a month after the anniversary of the tragedy. I decided to take a closer look into the article to fully understand why Trump would make such a remark. “Trump says he’s not blaming George W. Bush for 9/11, but he claims that if he had been president, the attacks would have never happened,” according to CNN. This is due to the fact of how strict he is on immigration rights, in his mind the attackers would have not been able to be in a position to commandeer the US flights.

He also brought Jeb Bush into the mix, and said something that I have not been able to fully process and get over, truly showing the lack of respect Trump holds for others. “I’m not blaming George Bush,” Trump said. “But I don’t want Jeb to say ‘My brother kept us safe,’ because 9/11 was one of the worst days in the history of this country.” Trump also took to Twitter and in a demeaning manner tweeted about Jeb Bush and his brother. I personally do not someone as immature as Trump in any position of power in the American government. I also believe that with tighter security measures 9/11 may have been prevented, but I strongly believe that Trump would not have been able to prevent 9/11 with whatever security measures he plans on using. In an interview he stated that he is planning on building a wall separating Mexico from the United States, and also stated that he would have Mexico pay for it. These kinds of strategies will not “make America great again.” They are not even logical statements to make in the first place, and yet he is still in the running for presidency. After all of those accusations, Jeb Bush pushed back against the criticism with grace and class. “My brother responded to a crisis, and he did it as you would hope a president would do. He united the country, he organized our country and he kept us safe. And there’s no denying that. The great majority of American’s believe that.”

As the election grows closer, I can only hope that Donald Trump’s overextended stay in the limelight of the political battle for president comes to a close. America needs to stop doing things because they are funny. His attitude and personality is much better suited for a television network.

Sources:

  1. http://www.cnn.com/2015/10/18/politics/donald-trump-jeb-bush-9-11/index.html
  2. http://www.cbsnews.com/news/trump-my-immigration-plans-would-have-prevented-911/
  3. http://time.com/4077615/donald-trump-bush-september-11/
  4. http://www.foxnews.com/politics/2015/10/18/trump-suggests-might-have-prevented-11-attacks-extending-feud-with-bush/
  5. http://www.nbcnews.com/politics/2016-election/trump-bush-continue-battle-over-9-11-comments-george-w-n446726
  6. http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3278050/Donald-Trump-says-tough-immigration-stance-prevented-9-11-doubt-people-country.html
  7. http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3278050/Donald-Trump-says-tough-immigration-stance-prevented-9-11-doubt-people-country.html
  8. http://news.nationalpost.com/news/world/donald-trump-says-that-he-would-have-prevented-911-if-he-had-been-president-in-2001
  9. http://www.vibe.com/2015/10/donald-trump-september-11-attacks/
  10. http://www.latimes.com/nation/politics/trailguide/la-na-trailguide-10182015-htmlstory.html
Leave a Reply

